Jonathan Woolgar draws from a wide range of musical experience to create work that is communicative without compromise. His music has been played around the world by performers such as Héloïse Werner12 Ensemble, the London Symphony Orchestra and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, as well as broadcast several times on BBC Radio 3. A recent Royal Philharmonic Society composer, Jonathan’s current projects include a commission for the LSO’s 22-23 Barbican season.

See full biography >


LSO premiere on 28th May

The London Symphony Orchestra will premiere my piece Symphonic Message: “Wach auf!” on Sunday 28th May at the Barbican, alongside music by Bartók, Lili Boulanger, Cassie Kinoshi and Colin Matthews.…

Read More

See all news >


Symphonic Message in memory of L. R.

for orchestra

Duration: 11 min. | First perf.: 22nd Sep 2022

Message-Fragments in Honour of Giles Swayne

for solo violin

Duration: 11 min. | First perf.: 1st Feb 2022

Canzoni et Ricercari

for 12 string players

Duration: 6 min. | First perf.: 9th July 2021


for orchestra

Duration: 4 min. | First perf.: 8th March 2021

See all works >